COVID-19: Committee inaugurated to advise on re-opening of pre-tertiary schools

The Minister of Education, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, on Wednesday, August 19, 2020, inaugurated a 10-member committee to deliberate and advise on modalities for the re-opening of pre-tertiary schools for onward approval by the President.

This information was captured in a press statement issued by the Ministry of Education and signed by the Press-Secretary of the sector Minister, Rodney Nkrumah-Boateng.

“This follows the address to the nation by President Akufo-Addo on Sunday 16th August 2020, which included government’s intention to consider the re-opening of schools following the shutdown in March 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic breakout,” the statement noted.

The Committee is chaired by Prof. Dominic Fobih, a former Minister of Education and currently the chairman of the GETFund Board of Trustees.


The Committee has representatives from the following institutions:

  • Ministry of Education
  • Ghana Education Service
  • Private school sector
  • Parents

The statement added that the Sector Minister during the inauguration charged the committee members to bring their expertise to bear.

“At the ceremony, the Minister charged the committee to bring their expertise and experience to bear in ensuring consultation with all stakeholders on the way forward on all the relevant issues.”

The Committee is expected to submit its report on its recommendations to the Education Minister on Monday, September 21, 2020.

Below is the press statement from the Education Ministry


Related posts